Combine images side by side or grid

Hi,

Noob here. Does anyone know how to combine images (if possible)?

I’d like to have two images next to each other. I’m using for A and B comparisons of screenshots, typically.

Thanks in advance.

It’s possible!

The best way is to open up the bigger of the two images, and then use the File ▸ Add Images… menu item to add your second image to the canvas. Then increase the canvas size via the Image ▸ Resize Canvas… menu, and double the width. Move your second image over to the right and get it all lined up. You can then use the Image ▸ Trim to Edges… menu item to get rid of any extra space that might be around.

Hope that helps,

-gus

Thanks for the help. I was looking for an automated workflow, however.

I currently have something I’ve made with ImageMagick, but I’d rather have something more easily configurable with RetroBatch.

The one I made with ImageMagick takes two files from the desktop, a.png and b.png, and combine them into one image keeping aspect ratio.

Oh, sorry- I thought this was an Acorn question :slight_smile:

So I might have a solution with a new plugin api I’m working on, if you’re willing to be a little tester. It’s Thanksgiving right now, so I might not get to it till next week- but can you tell me a little more about the images? You mentioned aspect ratio- so they have varying heights? And how does your ImageMagick script work to decide which two images to mash together?

Oh, okay :slight_smile:

Sounds cool with a plugin. Would like to test that.

It’s barely a script, actually. It’s a command that takes images a.png and b.png from the desktop. It takes the height of the larger of the two and resizes the smaller one until it has the same height while keeping aspect ratio. It then combines the two, where it places a.png next to b.png. A on the left and B on the right.

The resizing part isn’t really necessary, actually. It could just as well fill it with transparent if PNG or white if JPG.